Reporting periods can be updated at any time and will not affect any existing transactions posted to those periods.
Navigate to Settings > Accounting > Periods.
Only the first reporting period can be edited. Click on the edit icon under the Options column.
If you need to update any reporting periods that have been created after the first reporting period, you will delete these periods using the delete icon and re-add.